Confederate Pension Application of Andrew J. Phipps

 

Indigent Pension, 1900

Name-Phipps, A. J.

County-Banks

Approved-July 20, 1900 for 1901

Handwritten on folio cover “Gone Away-can’t find him.”

 

Questions for Applicant.

State of Georgia,

Banks County.

Andrew J. Phipps of said State and County, desiring to avail himself of the Pension Act (Section 1254, Code), hereby submits his proofs, and after being duly sworn true answers to make to the following questions, deposes and answers as follows:

1. What is your name and where do you reside? (Give State, County and post office.)

Andrew J. Phipps.  I reside in Banks County, Ga., Bellton P. O.

2. How long and since when have you been a resident of this State?

Since 1856. [incorrect-see Notes]

3. When and where were you born?

Macon County, North Carolina, 1844.

4. When and where and in what company and regiment did you enlist or serve?

In Grady’s Company 25th North Carolina Regiment 1862. [Co. G 25th North Carolina Infantry

Regiment].

5. How long did you remain is such company and regiment?

Till the surrender.

6. For how long a period did you discharge regular military duties?

Three years.

7. When, where and under what circumstances were you discharged from the service?

I was payroled [sic] at Appomatox.

8. What is your present occupation?

Farming.

9. How much can you earn (gross) per annum by your own exertions or labor?

[blank]

10. What has been your occupation since 1865?

Farming.

11. Upon which of the following grounds do you base your application for pension, viz: first, “age and poverty,” second, “infirmity and poverty,” or third, “blindness and poverty”?

Infirmity and poverty.

12. If upon the first ground, state how long you have been in such condition that you could not earn your support?  If upon the second, give a full and complete history of the infirmity and its extent?  If upon the third, state whether you are totally blind and when and where you lost your sight?

I have a kitney [sic] trouble, rheumatism.

13. What property, effects or income do you possess, and it gross value?

I have no property except 1 cow, 2 hogs and household goods all about $20.00.

14. What property, effects of income did you possess in 1894, 1895, 1896, 1867, 1898 and 1899, and what disposition, if any, did you make of same?

I had about what I have now except a mule which died in April, 1899.

15. In what County did you reside during those years, and what property did you return for taxation?

In Banks and Hall.  About the same.

16. How were you supported during the years 1898 and 1899?

I kept a little mill part of the time and my wife helped me in work.

17. How much did your support cost for each of those years, and what portion did you contribute thereto by your own labor or income?

I don’t know what it cost.  About ˝.

18. What was your employment during 1898 and 1899?  What pay did you receive each year?

I kept a mill and received a few bushells [sic] of corn.

19. Have you a family?  If so, who composes such family?  Give their means of support?  Have they a homestead?

I have a wife and one small girl aged 8 years old.  They have no property.

20. Are you receiving any pension?  If so, what amount, and for what disability?

I am not receiving anything.

Signed: Andrew J. Phipps

Sworn to and subscribed before me, this the 31st day of March 1900.

T. F. Hill Ordinary,

of Banks County.

 

Power of Attorney.

State of Georgia,

Banks County.

I, Andrew J. Phipps, hereby authorize T. F. Hill of Homer, Ga., to receive and receipt for the pension allowed, and request that he remit the same to me at Homer, Ga.

Witness my hand and seal this the 4th day of April 1900.

Signed and sealed: Andrew J. Phipps

Executed in the presence of J. J. Holder.

 

Notes- Andrew J. Phipps appears in the 1850 Macon County, N. C. , census as the son of Ezekiel Phipps and Clarissa Phipps as a 6 year old.  He is also in Macon County in the 1860 Census with his parents and siblings as a 16 year old.  His record shows he enlisted as a Private in Company G, 25th Infantry Regiment North Carolina on 01 April 1863 at the age of 18 and was on the rolls through February 1865.  In the 1870 Census Andrew J. Phipps, age 24, is found in Monroe, Indiana, with a brother, John K. Phipps, 26.  In 1880, Andrew J. Phipps was in Rabun County, Georgia, with his parents again.  In the 1900 Census Andrew J. Phipps was in Banks County with a wife, Mary, and a daughter May, born 1892.  In 1910 Andrew J. Phipps was in Custer County, Oklahoma with wife, Mary, and living with his son in law Ed Mason and wife, May. 

Andrew J. Phipps is buried at the Wade Cemetery in Habersham County.  His tombstone dates are 4-26-1843 to 5-14-1917.  Also buried in the Wade Cemetery in Habersham County is his brother, James W. Phipps, C. S. A. [no dates].

 

Transcribed 2006 by Jacqueline King (fammaw51@yahoo.com)